Congratulations to Jenny Dibley from the AAEE ACT Chapter who was awarded the Environmental Educator of the Year Award at the AAEE 2018 biennial conference last month.

Jenny is recognised as a leader in her field, particularly through her involvement in the development of the NSW Environmental Education Policy for Schools and the Australian Sustainable Schools Initiative (AuSSI). Jenny signed up all ACT schools (government and non-government) to Actsmart Schools. ACT is the only jurisdiction in Australia to have all schools registered with the program.

Jenny’s commitment to sustainability education has not been confined to her paid work.

As President of the Sydney West Branch of the ATA (Alternative Technology Association), based at the Hawkesbury Campus of Western Sydney University (WSU), a position she has held for over ten years, Jenny organises speakers and workshops and has created the Hawkesbury Sustainability Lecture Series.

She has been actively involved in Sustainable House Day since it commenced and responsible for the promotion and opening of an environment centre (EarthCare) located at Western Sydney University (WSU) each year. She has been involved as a volunteer at the Centre for over 20 years.

Congratulations Jenny!